Expectations and New Beginings

This year is a transition year for me as I begin a journey of becoming a research scientist and complete my administration certificate.  I am completing a 1:1 K12 initiative that I put so much energy into.  The completion of this challenge is bitter sweet.  As I review the final product and look at what all our team accomplished in the last 2 years, I am very overwhelmed at the amount of change and accomplishments made by a very small team. I feel that I did everything I could to promote and encourage critical thinking, research, global collaboration, media literacy, creation, and publication of student learning and success.  Synergy does not happen alone and everyone must buy in for the program to be successful. Being a change agent is a calling. From this experience, I have grown so much both emotionally, spiritually, and professionally. I have met some amazing and passionate educators. The network of experts I can now tap into is huge, and I feel that I cannot go back to who I was before this all began. Never give up, be the change you want to see, and perseverance were all chants that I passed along to others through this entire experience. Failure was not an option for me, but that is just it. This was and is not about me. This is about students and teachers believing in those very values and understanding that the world and teaching is fundamentally different now.  

Most state and national assessments are administered online, which many do not understand.  We must model critical thinking, media literacy, research, global collaboration, and encourage diversity in product creation.  Teaching is not about preparing students to take a state assessment.  If teachers could stop feeling pressured to focus on that assessment and begin fostering a passion for learning, performance will improve.  It is so easy to blame technology, assessments, or leadership. However, the instructor must also understand that the technology is not the answer.  Lack of technology or no technology is also not the answer.  A balance is needed and classroom management and expectations must be enforced to ensure that learning remains a focus on questioning, research, collaboration, creation, publishing, and evaluation.

I am having a difficult time understanding  Habermas chapter 1.  I am going to actively question, research, and collaborate with others to try to gain a better understanding of Habermas.  

I enjoy debate and philosophy and am looking forward to understanding how to apply strategies to encourage students to think critically and view media from a variety of perspectives.  

 

Critical Thinking Resources for K12:

Critical Thinking and Problem Solving Resources

Larry Ferlazzo Resources

 

Sandra Wozniak’s Critical Thinking Blog

About instructionaltechnologist101

Instructional Technologist 1 to 1, Avid change agent, Mac Enthusiastic, Implemented K12 1:1 program, managed offsite curriculum center in community museum, learner, PhD student in Educational Technology at University of North Texas. The future is now! www.why-steam.com

Posted on September 14, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 878 other followers

