6100 Course Reflection

As a result of the 6100 course, I have developed a personal theory of learning, applied instructional design approaches employing my personal theory of learning, and created a research proposal exploring teacher STEM perceptions in online and conventional learning environments. I have a deeper understanding of how Piaget’s theory of constructivism connects to Vygotsky’s theory of social constructivism to Paper’s theory on constructionism. Prior to this course, I did not have a strong background in learning theory as it applies to instructional design approaches. Also, I was able to create two instructional activities with two colleagues exploring topics associated with alternative energy and fabrication printing employing the 5E instructional model and product based learning instructional model. Both activities included considerations for online instructional delivery. In addition, I was able to improve my ability to provide professional development using the Canvas learning management system (LMS).

I was able to participate as a student in an online course that modeled true social presence, cognitive presence, and teacher presence. Instructors met with students twice a week, coaching students on advanced learning theory topics. Without the consistent feedback and collaborative exchanges received by both peers and instructors, I would possess required skill sets needed to complete a PhD study. My understanding of learning theory was very vague, and the collaborative synchronous meetings helped me fill in the missing gaps. I was redirected to improve my understanding of how to apply learning theory to instructional design models, and began to approach instructional design differently.

During this course, I was able to further my research in STEM and STEAM research initiatives and found that little to no research exists regarding online STEM professional development approaches. This is a huge finding for me, as I now have a clearer understanding on the direction my studies could go as I approach dissertation study. I hope to utilize instructional design activities developed this spring using a professional development STEAM Camp K12 MOOC (Massive Open Online Course), which was released for registration in Canvas’s Open Network yesterday. I would like to compare teacher STEM perceptions in online MOOC professional development to face-to-face professional development and hope to complete a mixed methods study doing so this summer.

Finally, I learned how to overcome obstacles and persevere during this process. The workload required this spring was heavy, but the work load  is preparing me for the final dissertation study. My writing process  has improved this spring, which is another benefit to blog postings required in the 6100 course. I was able to strengthen my connections with my online peers, through a stronger collaborative exchange. Activities required in this course paired me with three other cadre colleagues in which I had yet to work with. Our products and learning artifacts were strong and I enjoyed getting to know Bob Kaiser, Jarred Vanscoder, and October Smith this semester. Collaborative exchanges and discourse provided additional depth to my learning experience.

To sign up for the Canvas STEAM Camp Professional development MOOC, visit Canvas’s Open Network. Registration is up and the course begins June 2, 2014 and last for a 5 week period.

About instructionaltechnologist101

Instructional Technologist 1 to 1, Avid change agent, Mac Enthusiastic, Implemented K12 1:1 program, managed offsite curriculum center in community museum, learner, PhD student in Educational Technology at University of North Texas. The future is now! www.why-steam.com

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

